First Steps

01/03/2013 at 5:04 pm 2 comments

As promised, here are my first three days of the Make Something 365 challenge.  I don’t have a particular theme, like a skull a day, or a bookmark a day (though I I think someday I’d like to do a green-only [the color] challenge) so I’m just reading the prompts and doing whatever strikes me.

Prompt #1, January 1st: The first step is the hardest, so start small today and make something that fits in the palm of your hand using only the materials in your immediate environment.

I took “immediate environment” to mean my craft room.  Granted,  my craft room is more rich than most environments in terms of the amount of craft supplies contained within.  I don’t know what could be less immediate than in the same room though.  Only things at my desk? I could twist together a paper clip monster, maybe.

I tried to think of things that are small, and came up with stitch markers.  They’re used in knitting (and crochet, but those have to be slightly different) to mark certain areas in a project, e.g. the start of a round when you’re making a hat, separating the back from the front of a sweater, designating the boundaries of a lace panel, etc.  They’re useful, and small, and I continually misplace them.  Not being a jeweler or beader, I don’t happen to have a lot of these kind of supplies in the house, but I did have a few things I could start out with:

1. An old broken necklace.  The chain broke and couldn’t be fixed.  It was pretty cheap; I think I got it from Payless.  I wore it all the time before it broke, and I loved the colors, so I held onto it.  I figured I could do something with the beads.

IMG_0009

2. Stitch markers.  These were given to me by a person on Ravelry and, while I definitely appreciate them, the rocks are a little too big for the stitch markers to be practical.  They’re wide and heavy, and they get in the way.  I figured I could take the rocks off, and attach the necklace beads to the rings.

IMG_0015

 

I started by removing the beads from the necklace, and removing the rocks from the stitch marker rings.

I had four rings, so I rearranged the beads into four different groupings.  I didn’t use all the beads. It would have been too many, and the large wooden beads were just as large as the rocks on the original markers. (And I always thought the red beads looked like half eaten cough drops, which isn’t all that attractive.)

Then I ran into the issue of “How the hell am I going to attach these things?”  I remembered some stretchy bead cord I had bought when I needed to fix a necklace and pulled that out.

I cut a length and looped it through the stitch marker ring, then added the beads.

IMG_0020

I wasn’t sure how I was going to secure the end. I was wishing I had more beading knowledge/supplies, when I turned over the package the cord was in and saw that they recommended the very technical method of knotting it a few times and putting glue on it.  That I could handle!  So I did just that, left it to try, and then trimmed off the excess cord.

IMG_0027

 

Voila! Bead stitch markers!  They aren’t expertly done, and I wouldn’t be surprised if one of the knots comes undone at some point, but they’re secure enough for the moment.

IMG_0035

All together, they took about an hour, not counting drying time.  The only real issue I had was that I needed to replace one of the beads from my original grouping because the hole was large enough that even the knotted cord could slip through it.

Prompt #2, January 2nd: What’s your favorite animal? Use it as your inspiration for today.

I don’t know if this is really my favorite animal, but I do like cows.  Since that’s what popped into my head, I decided to stick with that.

As I went about my business in the first part of the day, I tried thinking of something to do with cows, or cow print.  I came to the realization that after all the crochet/knit toys I’ve made, I’ve never made myself a cow.  I decided to remedy that and looked on Ravelry for a pattern.  I quickly found this one, and decided to go with that.

For the most part, I followed the pattern directions, with a few exceptions:

  1. I made it smaller
  2. I did not put one of those cow noise thingies inside of it (though I do have one, given to me by the other members of the Ultimate Trio of Death or Doom and it scares the crap out of my dog)
  3. Rather than crochet  one spot, I made three fabric cow print spots and sewed them on with embroidery thread
  4. I filled the legs mostly with rice so the cow would stand up properly
  5. I used stick on googly eyes, mostly because I don’t have any of the other kind

IMG_0042

I didn’t actually finish the cow in one day, although if I’d started earlier than 3:30 yesterday, I probably could have.

Prompt #3, January 3rd: Make something out of paper but don’t use scissors or glue or draw on it.  What now? (And no, you don’t need to know how to do origami to do this.)

I did kind of cheat, in that I ripped a piece of paper out of a sketchpad and cut the scraggly bits off.  I just didn’t have smaller pieces of paper. Besides, I used an x-acto knife. So there.

I went through several iterations of the same idea before I ended up with what I ended up with.  In fact, you can still see the remnants of my original idea, but I didn’t want to start all over again, so I left it there. Idea #1 was to embroider some kind of checkered pattern on it. It was going to be one color, but then I decided to do a few.  I started on that and didn’t like the way it came out at all.  So I came up with idea #2, to use the same colors randomly to draw a grid pattern.  I did one color that way and realized that I liked the way that looked all by itself, so I left it alone.  Done!

IMG_0048

The holes in that one square are leftover from idea #1 that I figured would be covered up by idea #2.  I think it would look better without the holes or, alternatively, adding some more holes throughout.

 

I’m enjoying this process so far, because it’s forcing me to think a little differently.  Even three days in, though, I’m realizing how daunting of a task this is. Every day?  What about when I drive 8 hours to Jersey? What if I’m sick? What about my wedding day? What about if I *gasp* get hired somewhere? I know the craft police aren’t going to come arrest me if I miss a day, but still.  I’m usually a little short on follow-through, and I want to actually do this one.

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

New year’s resolutions and more Make Something 365 Entry #4

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. MegsFitness  |  01/04/2013 at 7:33 pm

    AH! The cow is freakin adorable. :3

    Reply
  • 2. Cary Creative Center « visuallyilliterate  |  01/30/2013 at 4:29 pm

    [...] often think, “Something cool can be done with this!”  Sometimes it works out, like the stitch markers I made for the first day of the 365 challenge. (I am still doing that, btw. I’m more behind [...]

    Reply

Say it!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

