Make Something 365 Entry #4

01/04/2013 at 6:19 pm 1 comment

Slightly off-topic, but every time I visit my WordPress dashboard, it always makes me laugh that they invite me to become “master of [my] own domain” (i.e. own visuallyilliterate.com).

I decided to skip today’s actual prompt, because it involved taking a walk outside.  Though it did eventually warm up to almost 50 today, after the 10 minutes I spent scraping off my car at 6:30 this morning I rejected any further outside activity that didn’t involve dog walking.

Prompt #5 (my 4th), January 4thWhat do you collect? Work with a collection of objects you have in your home (or borrow a friend’s if you like).

I’m not a big collector.  I have a collection of stuffed cows, but they’re at my parents’ house.  I figured yarn and embroidery floss didn’t count, but for some reason, my tin of buttons came to mind.  I did buy a bunch of buttons just to buy a bunch of buttons, plus I’ve gotten a bunch from my mom’s plethora of sewing supplies.

IMG_0053I don’t have as many as my mom does, but it’s not that far off.

I focused on one particular variety pack I’d purchased at Jo-Ann, mostly just because I liked the colors, and I knew they all went well together. I decided to affix them to one of several mini-canvasses I’d picked up on a whim of “I’d like to find something cool to do with this.”  I kind of wanted to paint it, so there would be a more interesting background, but I didn’t for several reasons.  First, as a rule, I don’t paint, so all I really had was watercolor.  I knew that I would have wanted a thick, bold coating, which watercolor was not going to do.  Also, it would have limited the button colors that I could have used.  I likely would have wanted to paint it green, which means no green buttons, of which there were several in this pack.

I arranged the buttons the way I liked and glued them in place on the canvas.  I didn’t actually have to glue them, because I was planning on sewing them on with embroidery floss, but I thought that if they were already in place, it would make the sewing process a lot easier.  I chose thread colors to match the buttons and color coordinated appropriately.

IMG_0057

There is a pink button in between two orange ones, but the light is making it look orange too.

I know I’m not making great works of art here, but I think it looks pretty cool, and I’m happy that it’s getting me doing something different with my downtime.

 

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , .

First Steps You win some, you lose some.

1 Comment Add your own

  • 1. MegsFitness  |  01/04/2013 at 6:52 pm

    That’s actually really cute. I can see a few of them being hung in a row in a kids room or a craft room. :)

    Reply

Say it!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 203 other followers

