You are all visually illiterate

05/01/2012 at 12:37 pm 2 comments

So here I am starting up a craft blog again; somewhat ironically, at a time where I know I will have much less time to craft than I used to.  I do, however, have more money.  There are some advantages to growing up and getting a “real job.”  (Or, you know, any job…)

Anyway,Crafting and art stuff is something I really enjoy doing, even if I only have a little bit of time to do it.  And it’s something I like sharing with people as well.  Not just cool things that I made, but cool things that other people have made as well.  I’m trying a bunch of new things, and would love to get feedback from people, and this seems like the best and most fun way to do it.

Feel free to go to the “About” page and read more about what exactly it is I do.

Also, the name: Visually Illiterate.  I dedicate this blog to every bad art teacher I’ve had in my life (which actually isn’t that many), and really one in particular. I can’t even remember his name, but I can still picture him in my head. He looked like an art professor. Wearing all black, longish gray hair, a beard, and glasses; some strangely undefinable accent.  The kind of teacher who would walk into our classroom with huge windows*, say “Draw the trees” and then leave for 90 minutes. This class introduced me to the need for coffee in the morning.

His method of instruction was telling us how bad we were. Not any specific comments to anyone, but just in general.  And he would tell us every day with that weird accent, “You are all visually illiterate.”  And he never really explained what that meant.  Having taken more drawing classes and having learned psychology since then, I know what he meant: That we weren’t Drawing on the Right Side of the Brain. Basically we didn’t know how to sight things properly, and couldn’t separate what we saw from what we knew about what we were seeing, and transfer that onto paper.  Basically: We didn’t know how to draw.

In other words: Visually illiterate

*Just had a grammar nerd moment.  Was he carrying the windows while he was walking in? How would that even work?

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: .

Brain stem! Brain stem!

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. ziggyshortcrust  |  05/01/2012 at 1:49 pm

    He should carry those windows as eternal punishment.

    Reply
    • 2. visuallyilliterate  |  05/01/2012 at 7:07 pm

      I like it! I do wonder if he’s still molding young minds…

      Reply

Say it!

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


